Matches Commence Sundays 1pm

Fortnightly matches using a T20 format as per below (there may be some consecutive matches).


Female players over the age of 12 are welcome.  Players to be registered players of a Club affiliated with a VMCU Association and registered on MyCricket.

Ball: Only Kookaburra 130g soft ball to be used.

Time: Team 1 bats for 75 minutes, Team 2 bats for 75 minutes to a maximum innings of 20 overs each or whichever comes first.

Boundary: 45m (maximum)- measured from the middle of the wicket.

Pitch : 18 m length.

Protective Equipment: Helmet (including the wicket keeper), batting pads, gloves and protector to be worn


9 Players per team, however the game works equally well for up to 11 players with fielding rotations & a game can commence with 7players/Team. Less than 6 players will result in forfeit.


  • 2 sets of portable stumps
  • Measuring tape or string to measure pitch length and boundary.
  • Boundary markers or cones.
  • Chalk, tape or paint (water based) to mark crease.


  • All batters unless dismissed retire after 20 balls faced (excluding any ball that is re bowled)
  • Retired batters can return only once when all other batters have batted and only in the order in which they retired and face a further 15 balls.
  • Retired batters cannot come in again after they have faced their allocated balls a second time. The batters innings is now finished.
  • All balls except those re-bowled will be included in the batter’s ball count – including no balls and wides that are not re-bowled.
  • LBW is not applicable, batters may be warned by the umpire if they are unfairly using pads to protect the stumps.
  • The innings is deemed closed when:
  •  after 8 wickets have fallen if you have 9 players, 8 wickets have fallen if you have 8 players (See Last Batter’s Tucker below), 7 wickets have fallen if you have 7 players (See Last Batter’s Tucker below) etc. Teams can play with more than nine players but the maximum wickets lost remains at 8 and the maximum number of batters is 9.
  • All batters have been dismissed or faced the allocated number of balls, or;
  • Innings is closed (usually 120 balls)
  • If innings finishes before 20 Overs the remainder of the overs should be bowled to any dismissed batters but runs scored do not add to the score for the purposes of determining the winner of the match, no batter is forced to participate in this part of the match, it is optional.


This ruling is only applicable for batters who have not previously retired and are in their first allocated # of balls. Team to provide a runner at the non-striker’s end. The runner does not face any balls and is only there to run. If she is run out the innings is deemed closed.


  • Maximum 8 balls per over which includes wides and no balls – a maximum of 2 no balls or wides re-bowled
  • Maximum of 4 overs per bowler
  • Bowlers are to bowl from one end for the entire innings.


  • No fielder within 10m of batter or each other (except wicket keeper), to encourage singles and safety.
  • Rotation of fielders is not compulsory but is strongly encouraged (clockwise or anti clockwise it doesn’t matter) to ensure all players experience different fielding positions.
  • If more than 9 players are present, they should rotate on/off field i.e. Maximum 9 players on the field at once.
  • If there is unequal numbers with fielding teams it is encouraged teams provide a sub-fielder to ensure fairness and within the spirit of the game.


  • All modes of dismissal count.
  • LBW not applicable but warning can be given – see ‘batting’.

Tip 1: If the ball hit’s the stumps or hit the base of the spring loaded stumps and the bails do not dislodge. This is still not out, move on. This isn’t the World Cup.

Tip 2: There is no Digital Review System (DRS) in this. Umpires/Coaches, common Sense should prevail here.